New Mayor and Deputy Mayor Elected in SDCC

SDCC Mayor Deputy Mayor Lafayette

At the Annual Meeting of South Dublin County Council held on 30th of June 2023 in County Hall, Tallaght, Councillor Alan Edge (Independent) representing the Firhouse – Bohernabreena Electoral Area was elected Mayor of South Dublin County.  Councillor Edge was proposed for Mayor by Councillor Mick Duff (Independent) and was seconded by Councillor Lyn Hagin-Meade (Green Party). Following a roll call vote, Councillor Edge was deemed elected to the Office of Mayor.

Cllr Edge joined South Dublin County Council in 2019 as a first-time election candidate, prior to this he was a barrister in London specialising in criminal law as well as a registered celebrant. He is a strong advocate for the LGBTQ+ community and supports the Ban Conversion practices and Hate Speech legislation. He is also a strong supporter of the environment and biodiversity and was the Chair of the Arts, Culture, Gaeilge, Heritage and Libraries Strategic Policy Committee. 

Councillor Yvonne Collins (Fianna Fáil) representing the Rathfarnham – Templeogue was elected Deputy Mayor. Councillor Collins was proposed as Deputy Mayor by her party colleague Councillor Charlie O’Connor and seconded by Councillor Pamela Kearns (Labour). Councillor Collins also joined the council in 2019. She is a practising solicitor and has run an office in Rathfarnham for the past twenty years. Cllr Collins is a strong advocate for inclusivity and accessible infrastructure. She also campaigns for a sustainable public transport system, particularly a Metro for Dublin Southwest. Cllr Collins has close ties to her community through several community organisations and is a member of the Land Use, Transportation and Planning Strategic Policy Committee.  

Tributes were also paid to the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Emma Murphy (Fianna Fail) and the Deputy Mayor, Councillor Joanna Tuffy (Labour), who thanked their fellow Councillors, Chief Executive, Colm Ward and the management and staff of the Council for their help and support during their term in office.

Addressing the Chamber, the new Mayor, Cllr. Edge said; “In setting out my core priorities for my year as Mayor I have at the centre the values of equality, diversity and fairness’. He pledged to visit every community centre in the county as part of a campaign to encourage people to their local centre and to support the introduction of Sláintecare initiatives in them all. He also promised to highlight rural communities during the year and the importance of ensuring their sustainability and to tackle discrimination in all forms through a Mayor’s Charter for local groups and organisations. He added,‘I pledge to work collaboratively and collegiately with all of the Councillors in the chamber to improve the lot of all the people we represent.”

The following councillors were also elected as Chairs of the Area Committees at the meeting:

Councillor Francis Timmons was elected chair of the Clondalkin Area Committee.

Councillor Vicki Casserly was elected chair of the Lucan/ Palmerstown/ North Clondalkin Area Committee.

Councillor Pamela Kearns was elected chair of the Rathfarnham/ Templeogue/ Firhouse/ Bohernabreena Area Committee.

Councillor Louise Dunne was elected chair of the Tallaght Area Committee.

Addressing the Chamber, the new Mayor, Cllr. Edge said; “I want to thank the people of Firhouse-Bohernabreena of whom I am incredibly proud to represent. As a proud blow-in in the Glenasmole community, I want to use this year to highlight rural communities. I pledge to work collaboratively and collegiately with all the Councillors in the chamber

Picture of Sarah Brooks

Sarah Brooks

Sarah has worked in marketing and content creation for many years. In her role at Newsgroup, she is the online editor of with a particular interest in local news and events. Sarah also works closely with our editorial team on our printed editions in Tallaght, Lucan, Clondalkin and Rathcoole/Saggart. If you have a story and would like to make contact please email Sarah at



Related News