Griffith College Present Five Deis Schools with Bursaries as Part of STEAM Initiative 

Kylemore College Ballyfermot Griffith

Griffith College presented St. John’s De La Salle, Ballyfermot with a €5,000 cheque having been chosen as the college’s overall winners of its STEAM Bursary Initiative in partnership with CPL. In addition, the students will be given a site tour of the initiative supporters, Amazon. Teamed with this, Kylemore College also Ballyfermot was presented with a €3,000 cheque which will be used to improve the school’s science labs. Students will also be given a site tour of Integrity 360.
A panel of Griffith judges including; Ciara Browne, John Molohan, Claire Aston and Waseem Ahktar deliberated over a plethora of applications to choose one overall winner and four other deserving schools.

Griffith College President Professor Diarmuid Hegarty presented St. John’s De La Salle with a cheque on behalf of the college to be used to improve STEAM related equipment. Other schools that have been acknowledged include Loreto, Crumlin which will be presented with a  €1,500 bursary and tablet worth  €500. Cork based schools St. Colman’s and St. Vincent’s will each receive €1,000 teamed with site visits to One Core and Microsoft, respectively.
National institution Griffith College has been shortlisted for “Best Outreach Initiative” by the Education Awards 2019 for its STEAM Bursary Initiative. The Initiative began with the intention of  increasing the uptake of STEAM subjects at Second Level.

Sarah Brooks

Sarah Brooks

Sarah has worked in marketing and content creation for many years. In her role at Newsgroup, she is the online editor of with a particular interest in local news and events. Sarah also works closely with our editorial team on our printed editions in Tallaght, Lucan, Clondalkin and Rathcoole/Saggart. If you have a story and would like to make contact please email Sarah at


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

Related News