Councillor Emma Murphy becomes first LGBTQ+ woman elected as Mayor

Mayor Emma Murphy

At the Annual Meeting of South Dublin County Council held on Friday 24 June 2022 in County Hall, Tallaght, Councillor Emma Murphy (Fianna Fáil) representing the Firhouse – Bohernabreena Electoral Area was elected Mayor of South Dublin County. The election of Councillor Murphy is a landmark moment for the State as she becomes the first LGBTQ+ woman elected to the office of Mayor in a County in the Republic. Councillor Murphy was proposed for Mayor by Councillor Shane Moynihan (Fianna Fáil) and was seconded by Councillor Alan Edge (Independent). Following a roll call vote, Councillor Murphy was deemed elected to the Office of Mayor.

Joining South Dublin County Council in 2016, Councillor Murphy has a background in developing youth empowerment programmes and promoting education opportunities at home and abroad. Councillor Murphy currently works with Barry Andrew MEP as his Communications Director. Councillor Joanna Tuffy (Labour) representing the Lucan Electoral Area was elected Deputy Mayor. Councillor Tuffy was proposed as Deputy Mayor by Councillor Pamela Kearns (Labour) and seconded by Councillor Laura Donaghy (Green Party). Councillor Tuffy first served as a councillor for the Lucan Electoral Area from 1999 to 2003 before being elected as a member of the Oireachtas for 14 years, representing the Dublin Mid-West constituency from 2007 to 2016. Councillor Tuffy was again elected a councillor for the Lucan Electoral Area in 2019.

Tributes were also paid to the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Peter Kavanagh (Independent) and the Deputy Mayor, Councillor Laura Donaghy (Green Party), who thanked their fellow Councillors, Chief Executive, Daniel McLoughlin and the management and staff of the Council for their help and support during their term in office.

The following councillors were elected as Chairs of the Area Committees at the meeting; Councillor William Carey was elected chair of the Clondalkin Area Committee. Councillor Ed O’Brien was elected chair of the Lucan / Palmerstown / North Clondalkin Area Committee.Councilor Lyn Hagin Meade was elected chair of the Rathfarnham / Templeogue / Firhouse / Bohernabreena Area Committee. And Councillor Mick Duff was elected chair of the Tallaght Area Committee.

Sarah Brooks

Sarah Brooks

Sarah has worked in marketing and content creation for many years. In her role at Newsgroup, she is the online editor of with a particular interest in local news and events. Sarah also works closely with our editorial team on our printed editions in Tallaght, Lucan, Clondalkin and Rathcoole/Saggart. If you have a story and would like to make contact please email Sarah at



Related News